RETURN TO COLLECTION DESCRIPTION | RETURN TO PUBLISHED GUIDES PAGE
Archivist & Manuscripts Curator
University of Alaska, Anchorage
ARCTIC ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION
AND DATA CENTER
LIBRARY ASSISTANCE GRANT
Revised in 1997

Fred W. Fickett, A Biographical Sketch
Scope and Content of the Collection
Calendar
Note: The items in the collection can be located either through
the Series Descriptions or the calendar.
Collection/Calendar Divisions
I. Diaries and Journals
II. Notes, Notebooks, Speech
III. Education, Legal, and Miscellaneous Papers
IV. Military and Pension Papers and Reports
--IV A. Enlistment and Promotion Papers
--IV B. Papers
--IV C. Reports
--IV D. Pension Papers
V. U. S. Weather Bureau Papers
VI. Correspondence
--VI A. Letters of Fred Wildon Fickett
--VI B. Letters of Nellie Tibbetts Lord Fickett
--VI C. Miscellaneous Fickett Correspondence
--VI D. Miscellaneous Third Party Correspondence
--VI E. Transcribed and Copied Letters (Not reproduced on microfiche)
VII. Miscellaneous Printed Material
VIII. Photographs
--VIII A. Fickett Family and Individual Photographs
--VIII B. Allen Expedition Photographs
--VIII C. Residents of Sitka, Alaska
--VIII D. Sitka Buildings and Views
--VIII E. Copied Arctic Region Photographs
--VIII F. Fred W. Fickett Photographs - Later Life
--VIII G. Fickett Family Photographs
IX. Artifacts
X. Fickett and Lord Family Genealogy Papers
--X A. Fickett Family
--X B. Lord and Tibbetts Families
--X C. General
XI. Related Papers
XII. Fickett Collection Copies
[Return to Table of Contents.]
I. Diaries and Journals;
1876-1888. .25 cu. ft. (8 items)
This series consists of eight diaries and journals maintained
by Fred Fickett. The most comprehensive item is the diary for
the period 18801888. Four volumes concern various trips; two
of these were maintained on the Allen Expedition. The Diaries
and Journals are arranged in chronological order by the first
dates in the work; the exception to this order are the last two
volumes which are contemporary copies.
II. Notes, Notebooks, Speech;
1878-1912. .25 cu. ft. (9 items).
The contents of this series are primarily notes and data on various
projects or activities of Fred Fickett or Nellie Lord Fickett.
They relate variously to school work and teaching, Alaska, the
Allen Expedition, and household purchases. The papers are arranged
in chronological
III. Education, Legal, and
Miscellaneous Papers; 1877-1894. .2 cu. ft. (18 items).
This series consists of fourteen documents. Most of the documents
concern education, his marriage, and his legal practice. They
are primarily in chronological order with the exception of a
receipt which has been added at the end.
IV. Military and Pension
Papers and Reports; 1881-1890, 1901, 1930. .2 cu. ft. (49 items).
This series consists of documents relating to Fickett's military
service. It is divided into four sub-series: Enlistment and Promotion
Records, Papers, Reports, and Pension Papers. Each sub-series
is arranged in chronological order. The enlistment papers are
three documents acquired from the National Archives; only his
promotion to Corporal is an original record. The "Papers"
include: military correspondence, general and special orders,
and reports covering the period from his enlistment to his discharge.
The two items in "Reports" include an original typescript
draft and a published copy of Allen's report on the expedition.
The last sub-series contains a reissue of his pension certificate
and two documents relative to obtaining a pension for Fickett's
wife after his death.
V. U. S. Weather Bureau Papers;
1891-1892. .1 cu. ft. (3 items).
This series consists of three documents relative to Fickett and
his service in the U. S. Weather Bureau. The most interesting
item is his appointment as an Assistant Observer.
VI. Correspondence; 1877-1890,
1906, 1930. 1 cu. ft. (240 items).
This series is divided into four sub-series: A - Letters from
Fred Wildon Fickett; B - Letters from Nellie Tibbetts Lord Fickett;
C - Miscellaneous Correspondence, and D - Transcribed and Copied
Letters. The letters in the first two sub-series are particularly
descriptive. The Miscellaneous Correspondence contains letters
written to Nellie Lord Fickett or to Fred Fickett from various
friends and associates; included among these are two original
letters from Henry Allen. Each of these sub-series is arranged
in chronological order. The fourth series and all envelopes have
not been reproduced on microfiche.
-VI A. Letters of Fred Wildon
Fickett
-VI B. Letters of Nellie Tibbetts
Lord Fickett
-VI C. Miscellaneous Fickett
Correspondence
-VI D. Miscellaneous Third
Party Correspondence
VI E. Miscellaneous Family Transcripts.
VII. Miscellaneous Printed
Material; 1883-1967. .25 cu. ft. (12 items).
This series contains a variety of printed items including clippings,
two maps, a handbill, and a journal containing an article written
by Fickett. They are arranged in chronological order by the first
date in each item.
VIII. Photographs; 1858,
1880-1886, 1925. .5 cu. ft. (68 items).
The series of photographs is divided into five subseries: The
Fickett Family and Individual Photographs consists of nine items,
six of which are copied from items owned by the Fickett Family
or the University of Maine at Orono; they are arranged in chronological
order. The five photographs of the "Allen Expedition"
members, which are also in chronological order, include two copies
of a photo taken at Fort St. Michael when the expedition members
came out of the interior of Alaska and two photos of expedition
members wearing jackets obtained in Alaska. The photographs of
the "Residents of Sitka" are of friends and acquaintances
of Fickett; they are arranged in alphabetical order. The pictures
of "Sitka Buildings and Views" are mainly of government
buildings and religious structures; the date given for these
(ca. 1883) is based on the fact that some were made by Fickett
and that was the only year he was in Alaska for the full twelve
months. The copied "Arctic Region Photographs," which
are arranged in numerical order, are from a set produced by Taber
Photographic Parlors of San Francisco; the date given (ca. 1885)
is only an estimation. See Box 7A for contact prints and negatives.
-VIII A. Fickett Family and
Individual Photographs
-VIII B. Allen Expedition
Photographs
-VIII C. Residents of Sitka,
Alaska
-VIII D. Sitka Buildings and
Views
-VIII E. Copied Arctic Region
Photographs
-VIII F. Fred W. Fickett Photographs
- Later Life
-VIII G. Fickett Family Photographs
IX. Artifacts; 1883, 1885.
.5 cu. ft. (4 items).
The four artifacts in this collection are related to Fred Fickett's
stay in Alaska and to the Allen Expedition. All of the items
are dated from the manuscripts. They are arranged in chronological
order.
X. Fickett and Lord Families Genealogy Papers; n.d., 1875-1989. (13 items).
XI. Related Papers. 1883-1906.
XII. Fickett Collection Copies.